Main: Sports: Local News

Wanderscheid races into history in Eagle River Submitted: 01/16/2011
Eagle River - P.J. Wanderscheid won the 48th running of the AMSOIL World Championship at the Eagle River Derby Track Sunday afternoon.

The driver from Minnesota is the first racer to win four world championships.

P.J. also won in 2002, 2003 and 2006.

The Derby Track had a new format for the championship this year. Instead of the traditional 25 lap feature, the track held two 15 lap finals. Gary Moyle from Houghton, Michigan led after the first 15 laps. The drivers took a five minute break before getting back on their snowmobiles. P.J. Wandersheid took the lead from Moyle in the second race. The two racers battled side by side the entire race with Wanderscheid winning one of the closest championship races in recent history.

Wanderscheid won $27,500 dollars for the victory.

Here's the final order:
48th World Championship Derby Results
1. P.J. Wanderscheid wins his 4th title
2. Gary Moyle
3. Jacques Villenueve
4. Malcolm Chartier
5. Joey Fjerstad
6. Dan Fenhaus
7. Spencer Graff
8. Nicolas Van Strydonk
9. Travis McDonald
10. Brandon Johnson
11. Brian Bewcyk
12. Matt Schulz

Written By: Newswatch 12 Sports

Text Size: + Increase | Decrease -