Krueger, Suter named to WI Hockey HOF Submitted: 08/01/2013
EAGLE RIVER - The board of directors of the Wisconsin Hockey Hall of Fame has selected Pete Krueger of Rhinelander for induction to the Wisconsin Hockey Hall of Fame in September 2013. He and his family will be the guests of honor at ceremonies to be held in Eagle River September 7. Pete Krueger was born and played his youth hockey in Milwaukee. After his move north, Pete served as a manager for the Eagle River Northernaires from the late 1950s in to the early 1960s. He coached the Eagle River Falcons to a State Championship in 1992, and followed that with the Badger State League championship in 1993.

Locally, Klueger served several terms as a board member for both the Eagle River Recreation Association and for the Rhinelander Ice Association, and was instrumental in the construction of the Rhinelande Ice Arena. At the state level, he served for a dozen years as a board member for WAHA, and was a Vice President at different times during his tenure. Krueger's greatest impact in ice hockey has been as the Commissioner of the Great Lakes Hockey League. The GLHL is the only full-check hockey league still remaining in the United States, and is composed of 11 teams in Wisconsin, Michigan and Illinois. The league provides a vehicle for adults who wish to pursue traditional hockey post high school, college or junior competition. Since he became Commissioner in the mid-1990's, Krueger has worked at all facets of not only maintaining and improving the league, but also at expanding it, in order to provide a broader geographical area for players, resulting in greater exposure for adult hockey across the three states. Gary Suter was born and raised in Madison, where he played for the Madison Lakers through Peewees, and for the Madison Capitols as a Bantam. After one year of junior A hockey in Dubuque, Suter played two years at the University of Wisconsin, prior to being drafted by the Calgary Flames. As a Badger, in the 1984-85 season, Suter won the Carlson Award as MVP, the Kelsey Award as most competitive player and the Coyne Award for most consistent player. Suter began his NHL career in 1986 with the Calgary Flames where he set numerous team and NHL records. As a rookie, he finished second among all NHL rookies with 68 points and won the Calder Trophy for NHL Rookie of the Year. He was also named to the NHL All-Rookie Team, and the Sporting News All-Star First Team. In 1987-88, Suter led all NHL defensemen with 91 points and set the Calgary single-season record for points by a defenseman and assists by a defenseman. As well as leading the team in many scoring categories while with Calgary, he played in four NHL All-Star Games, and was a member of the team that won the Stanley Cup in 1988-89. In four years with the Chicago Blackhawks, Suter once again led the team in many scoring categories, and was tied for the lead among all NHL defensemen with 20 goals and tied for the lead in power-play goals with 12, and shorthanded goals with two. He led all NHL defensemen with four game-winning goals and he led the team with 242 shots on goal. He played in 259 consecutive games and played in the 1996 NHL All-Star Game. In 1996, Suter was traded to San Jose where he played for four years. He led San Jose with 102 blocked shots in the 1999-2000 season and, in that season' was San Jose's nominee for the Masterton Trophy. The following year, he led all San Jose defensemen with 10 goals, and in 2001-2002, he won the San Jose Ironman Award. Suter retired from the NHL in 2002. Jim E. Brown's officiating career began as a teenager in Escanaba, MI and that career continued for the rest of his life. He became a registered official with AHAUS in the 1960's and continued to register with USA Hockey into his 70,s. Brown first registered with the WIAA as an official in 197l' and his involvement with the WIAA continued for decades after that working rules interpretation meetings and later as a consultant. He was the conference commissioner for the North Central Hockey conference from 1979 through 1992 and, as such, was responsible for the assigning of officials during that time. He was a founding member of the Central Wisconsin Hockey officials Association' and served as President from 1999-2008. The Wisconsin Hockey Hall of Fame was founded in 1975 and is housed in the Eagle River Sports Arena. The hall was established to honor outstanding individuals responsible for the development, growth and success of amateur ice hockey in the State of Wisconsin. Selected for induction with Krueger are Jim E. Brown of Mosinee, and Gary Suter of Lac du Flambeau. In addition, at the same ceremony, the Wisconsin High School Hockey Coaches Association will induct the first member of the WHSHCA Hall of Fame. Selected for that is former Madison Memorial High school hockey coach Vic Levine of Madison.

Story By: Wisconsin Hockey Hall of Fame

Text Size: + Increase | Decrease -

Email this article to a friend: 

*Your Name:
*Email Address:
*Recipient Name:
*Email Address:
  Enter the code you see below:



Click Here